TownHall Cross 2013

admin | September 30th, 2013 - 7:29 pm |

Another year, and Townhall keeps growing bigger and better. Thanks to everyone who came out, raced, volunteered, officiated, fixed bikes, or just heckled a few people. Specifically thanks to St. Luke’s Hospital, Cutters Bike Shop, Specialized Bikes, Eric Mitchell for the announcing, Bolete, PowerBar, Gallons to Ounces for the tunes, and Steve from Cycleops. Specialized donated a Crux frame, 2 tubular tires, and a great stash of prizes. Congrats to the lucky winner of the frame!

The action started with a completely full Cat 4/5 field, and Ruiz getting the hole shot:

Here is Bays showing good form over the barriers:

A strong ride by Matthew Bruno was enough to take the win in the Cat 4/5 race.

The award for traveling the farthest, in the least amount of time has to go to David Molinero, who took the red-eye from California to arrive early in the morning on Saturday. He then raced 3 events, the 4/5, 3/4, and single speed!

Kevin Fryberger won the competitive Masters 35+, followed closely by Joe Piccolo in second, and an excellent ride by Chris Garges put him on the third step of the podium.

The Bikeline duo of Bob Reuther and Martin Mrugal took the top two spots in the 45+, followed by Raymond Ziemet.

In the 55+ race, Kevin St. Clair took the win, Dennis Smith was second, and Scott Reynolds took third.

The top 3 in the Men’s 3/4 race were Caleb Holmes, Marco Mora, and Alex Roberts:

In the Women’s 3/4 race, Robin Dunn, Nadia Latzgo, and Sarah Loguidice took the top 3 spots.

Then, in the Women’s 1/2/3 event, Bicycling magazine’s Fit Chick took the top step of the podium, followed by Kathleen Wulfkuhle, Erica Yozell, Kristine Church, and Lauren Festa.

It was good to see some racing in the Women’s U19 field as well, the top three were Emma Freymann, Kiley Krasley, and Corinne Krasley.

In the Men’s 1/2/3 event, a small group formed early on that slowly whittled down by attrition towards the end of the race. John Minturn suffered an unfortunate mechanical early in the race which took him out of contention.

The top few positions were closely contested, and several of the riders remained in contention for the win until very close to the end.

Gerry managed to put some distance into the Mike, Greg, and Joe to secure the win.

Mike came in for a very close second place.

Final podium was Gerald Adasavage, Mike Festa, Gregory Whitney, Joe Pigga, and Mark D’Avino. Mark had a very strong ride, last year he was the winner of our Cat 4 race, and coming back to place 5th in the elite race is a great result.

Gerry now takes a place on our list of 1/2/3 victors:

2013: Gerald Adasavage
2012: Cameron Dodge
2011: Bobby Lea
2010: Guillaume Nelessen

The final race of the day featured some very creative costumes in the single speed race. Riding the St. Luke’s staircase, in costume, on a single speed is quite an accomplishment.

Dennis Bike photos.

Facebook photos.

Marten’s race report.